Emergency Check 

The day before I went back to work and tried to do normal activities like walking to printing machine, pantry or toilet but they were all a distance away. When I go for lunch with my colleagues, I tried to walk faster but I was still in pain. 

In the middle of the night, I woke up in pain and it went worst in the morning. I couldn’t sleep and I called KKH around 7am. The receptionist told me go to O&G 24hr clinic immediately. 

As Dr Tan was not around on weekends, we were attended by Dr Goh XX (can’t remember his full name). We waited longer than other patients as I’m an IVF patient and the nurse required to take my history file from clinic D. He did a vagina ultrasound scan and he can’t find any baby sac so he asked me to go for detailed scan and blood test. 

During the blood test, I was poked twice by an old nurse yet she can’t get my blood. I told the nurse if she can’t get my blood, send me to clinic D as the nurses there can draw blood painlessly. In the end, another nurse took over and she just need to poke once to draw 2 tubes of blood. 

After that I was put on wheelchair to go for detailed ultrasound at level 1. The radiologist took sometime to do a thorough scan from my lower abdomen and vagina. From the top, she found one baby sac on my right uterus. From my vagina, she saw many cyst in the ovaries and luckily there’s no sign of ectopic pregnancy. Then I was pushed back to the clinic to wait for report and see Dr Goh. 

When I was called in, Dr Goh said I am lucky as I don’t have OHSS but there’s multiple cysts in both of my ovaries. This was due to the stimulation medicine I took during IVF treatment. They all grew bigger into corpus cysts so as to produce progesterone and due to the effect of HCG. My left ovary became 7.2cm BIG and that caused the pain. Dr Goh prescribed pain killers and told me to rest. He said I can take leave to rest at home until it subside in 3-4weeks time when my plcenta grew. 

Total duration: 4-5hrs 

Total fee: $390 

Leave a comment